‘Nuff Said

Regarding what I wrote earlier…I heartily recommend this post by Bart Barber.

Although this situation came up after I wrote my question a couple of days ago, this whole SWBTS controversy is a prime example.  I thank God for people like Pastor Barber who will stand up and say, “Enough!”

Listen folks, Paige Patterson isn’t my personal theologian by any stretch of anybody’s imagination, but I will not be party to this attempt to discredit him or his reputation among those of us who are happy to walk down the path that he nearly single-handedly opened for us in the SBC.  And before someone says I’m just saying, “Touch not the Lord’s anointed”, stop for a minute and think about this.  That is exactly what I’m saying.

Jesus said, “You will know them by their fruit.”  Let’s look at Dr. Patterson’s fruit for a moment.  If you are a conservative in the SBC, Patterson cleared the way for you to be here.  If you have received a degree in the past 10 years from a SBC Seminary and still believe that the Bible is God’s inspired, infallible, inerrant Word, then thank Patterson.  Now let’s look at his detractor’s fruit.  Divisiveness, dissension, anger, malice, lying, backbiting, gossip, and the list goes on.

I think I can say pretty fairly here, “Touch not the Lord’s anointed.”  Even though I do hate what most people usually mean by that.

3 Comments

Filed under blogginess

3 responses to “‘Nuff Said

  1. Brian

    What SBC controversy are you referring to (I’m also SBC, by the way)?

  2. Brian

    Well, I’ve been wary of Paige Patterson since he took office down in Fort Worth. I DID NOT like the Dwight McKissic issue (I know there is controversy, but I don’t see the biblical foundation for cessationalists – I think their reasoning is weak at best – of course, I don’t know where you stand on this issue). I’m surprised at this controversy – it was my understanding before that Patterson was a Calvinist. I now assume that information was false.

Leave a Reply

