A Parable

By Jeremy Weaver

There was a certain city, Parchville, that ran out of water. Lakes, rivers and wells all dried up. The Mayor of Parchville, driven by thirst, went looking for water.

In cavern on the side of a mountain just twenty-five miles away he found a fresh-water spring. The Mayor filled his canteen, several water bottles, and a tank he had brought along with him in anticipation of finding water. He then returned home.

Many of the elderly and sick by this time were at the point of death. In only a number of days the rest of the citizens in Parchville would die as well. But the instead of sharing water, or telling the citizens of Parchville where water could be found, he began a lecture series on the importance of exercise as part of a healthy lifestyle.

The citizens of Parchville were happy to know that their Mayor cared about their well-being. And he was a very charismatic speaker. A local television station began recording and broadcasting the Mayor’s lectures. Soon everyone in the city had heard the Mayor speak about jogging, weight training, body fat indexes, and how to maintain a healthy weight.

Since the lectures were so popular, the Mayor decided he would write a book on exercise and he then developed a new exercise machine for the citizens of Parchville.

Then the citizens of Parchville died, because the Mayor of Parchville had neglected to answer the question the people needed answered the most in order to truly have a healthy life.

4 Comments

Filed under Gospel, parable

4 responses to “A Parable

  1. I get it. But you-know-who still doesn’t.

  2. DB

    I also get it. I’ve been criticizing Osteen’s health and wealth gospel for several weeks in my bible study, mainly because people are buying it. But at the same time, I am touched that Osteen (if it was Osteen) took time to respond so graciously. I hope it’s his heart and not simply a PR move.
    But he does misinterpret scripture. I heard a sermon of his recently where he explicated 1 Kings 17:6. Somehow, he extrapolated from this that God wants to give us not just what we need, but lots of money and perfect health. Not good exegesis. As I tell my bible study, “give us this day our daily bread” is tied to “thy kingdom come.” For Osteen, it sounds more like “my kingdom come.”
    But is he insincere or simply confused?

  3. *ahem*

    Prov 30:
    7 “Two things I ask of you, O LORD;
    do not refuse me before I die:

    8 Keep falsehood and lies far from me;
    give me neither poverty nor riches,
    but give me only my daily bread.

    9 Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you
    and say, ‘Who is the LORD ?’
    Or I may become poor and steal,
    and so dishonor the name of my God.

    This is difficult to understand… uh… how, exactly?

  4. also: a good reminder of the urgency of our need to preach the gospel. Well told.

Leave a Reply

