Evangelical Jargon

It’s been a while since we did a Evangelical Jargon post. So here’s another one.

“It’s a Relationship, not Religion.”

I like to call the thinking behind this the ‘Religion of Relationship’. This ‘Religion of Relationship’ sets up a certain aspect of our relationship with God as though the relationship itself is God. We are invited to a relationship, live in the power of our relationship, and pray by virtue of our relationship.

The religion of Christ calls us to Himself, gives His Spirit and grace for daily living, and bids us make our petitions known to God based upon both our relationship with Christ and Christ’s relationship to the Father.

Not that I deny the truth behind the relationship part. We are in a relationship with the Triune God. But that does not necessarily mean that we are not in a religious relationship with the Triune God.

God is not my buddy. He’s not my celestial grandpa, or my imaginary friend. He’s my God. The proper relationship between us is not only of Father and son, but of Creator and creature, Sovereign and subject, Holy and sinner, Savior and redeemed.

7 Comments

Filed under evangelical jargon

7 responses to “Evangelical Jargon

  1. “Christianity isn’t a religion, it is a relationship with Jesus Christ”.

    Well, that’s okay as far as it goes, but that relationship needs to go further than a simple cliché. We need to know how we relate to Jesus more fully, to just say we believe in him or that we believe he is the Son of God without knowing the “why” is to relate less, to have less of a relationship. Our faith should mature. It must.

    Good stuff, Jeremy…

  2. John says that sometimes. It is true, but I get your point – God is not my buddy. Good thoughts.

  3. I remember a tape from years ago by Alister Begg-my friends and I had fun saying t with his accent, but we were serious in saying it as well.
    It’s almost the same as what you siad–so the post made me do it in my head-

    “Jesus Christ is not your buddy, He’s your Lord.”

  4. Rose,
    I’m sure John says it with at least a litle theological undergirding. 🙂

    Thanks for the comment Even So…

    Pilgrim,
    That is funny when you say it in ‘Beggian’.

  5. Have you ever written about this one?…”I just want to be real.” or “That person is so real”? Real what? For what? I don’t want to be real. I want to be godly which is so unlike my nature

    I have banned this one from my vocabulary.

  6. Matt,
    Are you for real? 🙂

  7. “The proper relationship between us is not only of Father and son, but of Creator and creature, Sovereign and subject, Holy and sinner, Savior and redeemed.”

    you should get that copyrighted! 😉

Leave a Reply

