Blogging the Baptist Faith and Message

I don’t like doing series of posts because I usually end up not being able to complete the series in a timely fashion.  This is due to, (1) my busy schedule, and (2) my laziness.

That being said, there seems to be a lot of confusion out there about what the BF&M says about some key doctrines.  In this series of posts I will attempt to provide a helpful commentary on the articles of faith expressed in the BF&M.

The first post will be a short history of the BF&M, while the following posts will be short commentaries on each article.  At least I intend for the posts to be short.  Conciseness is a virtue.  Martin Luther once said, “I would not have preachers torment their hearers, and detain them with long and tedious preaching, for the delight of hearing vanishes therewith, and the preachers hurt themselves.”  The same can be said for blogging.  I would not have bloggers torment their readers, and detain them with long and tedious posting, for the delight of reading vanishes therewith, and the bloggers hurt themselves.

I want these posts to be read, therefore, I will do my best to make them short.

Look for the first BF&M post this Friday, with subsequent posts each Friday thereafter.

4 Comments

Filed under baptist, blogginess, Theology

4 responses to “Blogging the Baptist Faith and Message

  1. So do you mind if I post some things not having to do with the BFM or do you want that to be the concentration of the blog for now?

  2. I’m looking forward to finding out what I believe as a Southern Baptist!

  3. Post whatever you want, Peter. The BF&M will be Fridays only. That leaves 6 more days for blogging excellence.

  4. Steve,
    I’ve been wantiing to tell you some of these things for a long time. I think it will enrich your Southern Baptist experience.

Leave a Reply

