For Terry Rayburn part 2

Well I’ve got egg on my face Terry correctly pointed out an error in my response to him that is obviously incorrect now if your wondering what that was its this:

Again Terry I’ve got to point out we’re not talking about imputing Christ’s obedience, none of us ever said that and that isn’t what’s pointed out in either Machen’s article that I posted or Jeremy’s posts. What we are saying is that Christ as our representative did for us what we couldn’t do, what Adam failed to do. And that was obey God perfectly. Jeremy said much the same thing when he posted

Terry rightly pointed out that I am saying something that isn’t what is taught by the Classical Reformed view.  And he is right, and this is incorrect. The 1689 London Baptist Confession states:

CHAPTER 11 – JUSTIFICATION

GOD freely justifies the persons whom He effectually calls. He does this, not by infusing righteousness into them, but by pardoning their sins and by accounting them, and accepting them, as righteous. This He does for Christ’s sake alone, and not for anything wrought in them or done by them. The righteousness which is imputed to them, that is, reckoned to their account, is neither their faith nor the act of believing nor any other obedience to the gospel which they have rendered, but Christ’s obedience alone. Christ’s one obedience is twofold-His active obedience rendered to the entire divine law, and His passive obedience rendered in His death.Those thus justified receive and rest by faith upon Christ’s righteousness; and this faith they have, not of themselves, but as the gift of God.

John 1:12; Rom. 3:24; 4:5-8; 5:17-19; 8:30; 1Cor. 1:30-31; Eph. 1:7; 2:8-10; Phil. 3:8,9.

Now I had a friend of mine read over my post because frankly I’m working on these posts around Midnight and I have the tendency to be a little fuzzy headed when the clock strikes twelve.  And this man is much smarter than me and he didn’t catch it either.

So with Terry’s kind indulgence I’m going to ask his pardon for posting something that I didn’t mean to write.

2 Comments

Filed under egg on my face

2 responses to “For Terry Rayburn part 2

  1. Check out John Murray’s “The Imputation of Adam’s Sin”
    Heavy reading, but good.

  2. I’ll put it on my list of books, I’ve finished O. Palmer Robertson’s Christ and the Covenants and I’ll be starting on Luther’s Bondage of Will next. Not to mention the visual basic dot net books I’m supposed to be reading too.

Leave a Reply

