Providence

What are God’s works of Providence? God’s works of providence are, his most holy, wise, and powerful preserving and governing all his creatures and all their actions.

Monday of last week I awoke to pain radiating down my back and my left arm. The pain in my arm grew worse to the point that on Thursday of last week I drove myself into the emergency area of the local hospital convinced that I was having a heart attack.

I wasn’t.

The x-rays revealed that I had a pinch nerve in my back which was causing the pain down my left arm. I’m still experiencing that pain right now. However, one of my blood tests showed what is termed a false positive and so they scanned my chest for a possible blood clot. What they found instead was that my lungs were fine but I have a tumor on my stomach.

If the Sovereign God hadn’t allowed me to have that pain I wouldn’t have ever gone to the hospital. If that blood test hadn’t been positive they would have never scanned my torso. If that hadn’t happened then I wouldn’t have found out about the tumor.

Currently I am seeing what can be done about the tumor. Its frustrating. I’m not the kind of person that enjoys hospitals, or being poked at or having tubes shoved down my throat. But I know this:

And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. (Romans 8:28 ESV)

Because of this I praise God for his mercy towards me, and I covet your prayers for me. But I am going to be quitting blogging for awhile. So I want to thank Jeremy and the rest of the crew on Doxoblogy its been a pleasure. God bless.

Pete

4 Comments

Filed under Providence

4 responses to “Providence

  1. Jeremy Weaver

    We’re praying for you Peter. Keep me updated on your condition, as possible.

  2. D.J. Cimino

    We definitely will be praying!!

  3. bluecollar

    Will pray

  4. Joe

    I’m with you, Peter. I hate all of that poking and probing.

    I like the way The Great Physician does things a lot better.

Leave a Reply

