Last Two!

From Ken Fields;

Are Baptism and the Lord’s Supper ordinances or sacraments?

I’ll be watching as you address this one!!!

Both. They are Ordinances because they are commanded by Christ, and Sacraments because they are sacred events.
Baptists do not generally like the term ‘sacrament’ because of it’s association with the Catholic Church, but most other Protestant denominations use the two terms interchangeably.
I think there is meaning to be offered from both terms, as my initial answer illustrates, and that they should not be viewed as merely synonymous.
When we speak of Baptism and The Lord’s Supper as Ordinances we point out the fact that we have been commanded to practice both. When we say that they are Sacraments, we point out that these are ordinary elements (water, bread, and wine), that have been made holy for Christians since Christ has commanded their use to illustrate and communicate central truths of the Christian faith.

And as long as you’re at it, how about this one: should someone who hasn’t been Scripturally baptized partake of communion?

That’s a tricky question. We immediately think of paedo-baptists, but this could also include a new convert who hasn’t had the opportunity to be baptized.
On the one hand, I can’t find any Scripture that says that only the baptized may partake of the Lord’s Supper. On the other hand, as a Baptist I believe that after conversion, baptism is the next step, logically and chronologically, in a convert’s discipleship.
I don’t think I would withhold the Lord’s Supper from any believer who has examined their own conscience before God.

I think we need to ask Frank about this. He’s the baptism go-to guy.

3 Comments

Filed under Baptism, baptist, church, Lord's Supper, questions

3 responses to “Last Two!

  1. Peter D. Nelson

    Oh no Jeremy that was way too easy let me follow up on the questions. Are the ordinances/sacraments of baptism/communion merely memorials or are they in fact means of Grace?

  2. Jeremy Weaver

    They are in fact a means of grace.
    By that I mean that they communicate God’s grace while they do not necessarily impart God’s grace.
    By that I mean that they are symbols, much like a wedding ring is a symbol. The wedding ring does not make me married, does not make me loved, does not make me love, but it does communicate to me the fact that I am married, I am loved, and I do love. But this is not love in the abstract…it is love for a person…my wife. The ring then by symbolizing love points me to the object of love.
    Baptism and the Lord’s Supper are two of the means that God uses to show His presence to the Church.

    I need to make a post out of this.

  3. Peter D. Nelson

    Yes, yes you do.

Leave a Reply

