Original Sin part one

Every so often I’ll get on PalTalk, mainly to chat with some friends who I’ve met through the Internet. Typically we meet in one of the Christian Theology chat rooms while there I try to ignore some of the comments that are normal for PalTalk chat rooms but every so often someone says something that is so outré that I must reply or it will loop in my head on that intracerebral möbius track until I suffer an aneurysm.

So the conversation went something like this:

unknownpaltalker: . . .sinners like that.

peculiarbaptist (me): We’re all sinners.

unknownpaltalker: Not everyone.

peculiarbaptist: Yes everyone, Romans 3:23 clearly states that all are under sin and so are sinners.

uknownpaltalker: Babies aren’t sinners.

peculiarbaptist: Yes they are, since the fall of Adam all children are born sinners.

unknownpaltalker: No they’re not children are innocent.

peculiarbaptist: Scripture teaches that all are sinners and that they are under the wrath of God.

unknownpaltalker: Are you a baptist?

peculiarbaptist: Yes I am a baptist.

unknownpaltalker: Your the first baptist I know of that would send babies to hell.

peculiarbaptist: Tell me what difference does it make if God sends someone to hell as an adult or as a child if all sinners are under the wrath of God?

unknownpaltalker: My God doesn’t send babies to hell!

peculiarbaptist: Please show me from scripture what you have just asserted.

unknownpaltalker: Let the children come to me; do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of God. (Mark 10:14)

peculiarbaptist: That doesn’t address the scripture regarding all being under sin.

unknownpaltalker: Yes it does.

peculiarbaptist: No it doesn’t in context it says nothing regarding sin and at best all you can say that it is an attitude you must adopt to be a kingdom member.

unknownpaltalker: Are you a Calvinist?

peculiarbaptist: Yes, I hold to the doctrines of grace.

unknownpaltalker: Why don’t you just call yourself a Calvinist?

peculiarbaptist: Well because I am a Reformed Baptist, or if you will a Particular Baptist and I hold to believer’s baptism.

unknownpaltalker: Well your just a Calvinist! (logs out of chat room)

Ahh the old “your just a Calvinist!” response how I love it. Because of this I decided to do a brief study on original sin for Doxoblogy.

To be continued…

5 Comments

Filed under Adam's fall, children, PalTalk, Theology

5 responses to “Original Sin part one

  1. Jonathan Moorhead

    Very good – and true.

  2. C.T. Lillies

    Pete!
    Ahhh..the promised series. Southern Baptists have a REALLY hard time getting their heads around that election/depravity dynamic. Its a toughie. If you get sick of banging your head against that wall try Providence…

    At least he didn’t call you a hyper-calvinist. That leads me to believe your assailant was at least moderately well-informed.

    Josh
    “…the word of God is not bound.”
    –2 Timothy 2:9

  3. Jeremy Weaver

    Great post!

  4. I think you need to take another look at what Paul is saying in Romans 5. He explicitly says “death passed to all men, because all sinned” and not “death passed to all men, because all are sinners”.

    If you like, all men are sinners because even the sweetest baby will eventually sin, but wrath and punishment are results of sinning and not of just being sinners.

    I’ll continue my comments in part 3…

  5. Pingback: Posting « Contra Tenebra Lux

Leave a Reply

